Class notes - Winter 2012

Kyrsten Sinema
Kyrsten Sinema
(Class of 2004), a former state lawmaker, was elected to represent Arizona’s District 9 in Congress in a new district will represent the Valley Arizona gained to reflect population gains. It took several days to call the race because of hundreds of thousands of early and provisional ballots uncounted in Maricopa County. Sinema spokesman Rodd McLeod told The Arizona Republic that Sinema won by connecting with voters struggling in the tough economy.

"Kyrsten got into the race with a very clear idea about what people were going through and the kind of economic stresses that are on families," McLeod told reporter Rebekah L. Sanders. The election was about "who had the best ideas and the most concern for the middle class," he said.

Read more ...

Greg Patterson
Greg Patterson
(Class of 2008), a conservative political blogger, was nominated by Gov. Jan Brewer to the Arizona Board of Regents. Brewer's pick was controversial because the former GOP legislator has been a critic of the regents and university presidents in his blog, Espresso Pundit, according to an article by Anne Ryman in The Arizona Republic. In the blog, Patterson has criticized the regents and university presidents for raising tuition and not cutting more expenses. Patterson, 48, is an accountant and attorney and served in the state House from 1991 to 1995, Ryman reports. Patterson will serve an eight-year term as one of 12 regents, who set policy for Arizona State University, the University of Arizona and Northern Arizona University.

Read more ...

Ann Scott Timmer
Arizona Court of Appeals Judge Ann Scott Timmer (Class of 1985) has been appointed to the Arizona Supreme Court. Timmer, 52, is the fourth woman since statehood to be appointed to the high court.

“Judge Timmer has a record of integrity and achievement in the legal profession, has proven herself as a well-respected and fair-minded jurist on the Arizona Court of Appeals, and will make an excellent addition to our Arizona Supreme Court,” Arizona Gov. Jan Brewer said. “I know she will continue to serve Arizona with the kind of distinction that has marked her career over the last three decades.”

While attending the College of Law, Timmer was a Note and Comment Editor for the Arizona State Law Journal, a member of the National Appellate Advocacy Team and a member of, and regional winner for, the National Moot Court Team. She received the American College of Trial Lawyers Medal for Excellence in Advocacy, and was elected to the Order of the Coif and the Order of Barristers. She graduated with magna cum laude honors.

“Given Judge Timmer’s years of dedicated service to the people of Arizona, Gov. Brewer could not have chosen a more qualified person,” said Dean Douglas Sylvester. “It is gratifying to see ASU alumni regularly reach impressive heights in their careers, and Judge – now Justice – Timmer, in particular, has long been an important member of our close alumni community. We are proud of her for her promotion to this very prestigious position.”

Read more ...

Alan A. Matheson
Rebecca White Berch
Michael Daly Hawkins
Three people affiliated with the Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law at Arizona State University are among 10 lawyers and judges selected this year for induction into the Maricopa County Bar Association Hall of Fame.

They are:

Alan A. Matheson, Dean Emeritus and Professor of Law at ASU, who arrived at the College of Law in 1967 to serve as Associate Dean. Matheson is known as an influential administrative leader and a beloved teacher. He also has compiled a remarkable record of service to the Bar, the community and the legal profession.

Rebecca White Berch (Class of 1979), Chief Justice of the Arizona Supreme Court, a Professor and Director of the Legal Research and Writing Program at the College of Law. Berch, the third woman to serve as chief justice, also was Arizona Solicitor General and an appellate court judge.

Michael Daly Hawkins (Class of 1970), Judge on the 9th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals. Hawkins served as president of the Maricopa County Bar Association 1987-88.

Read more ...

Randall M. Howe (Class of 1988) who was appointed to the Arizona Court of Appeals, Division 1, in May, held his investiture at the College of Law on Sept. 27. He was appointed to the Court by Gov. Jan Brewer.

Dean Douglas Sylvester of the College of Law said Howe’s background and experience make him ideal for the court.

“Randy has had a distinguished career in government service and was a logical choice for this key judicial position,” Sylvester said. “I have no doubt that he will continue to serve with the same degree of honor and integrity that has made him such a well-respected figure in Arizona.”

Read more ...

« Back